An Overview of Colorado’s New Marijuana Law
While we concentrate on cigars and pipes in our store, we’re aware that some smokers enjoy other products than tobacco. As of January 1st, Colorado became the most liberal place in the entire world for marijuana lovers, when the retail marijuana law took effect. There is a lot of talk about what is and what is not exactly legal now, so here’s a handy overview for you.
Who can buy it? Adults 21 and older with valid ID can purchase marijuana from retail stores now. Colorado residents can purchase up to one ounce; out-of-state residents can purchase up to a quarter ounce, but marijuana cannot be transported over state lines, and is illegal inside Denver International Airport.
Who can grow it? Anyone can grow up to six plants, but only three or fewer can be mature and producing at one time. You cannot resell the weed you grow but you can give up to an ounce away, in case you wanted to make someone’s birthday extra special.
Who can possess it? Some people are saying it’s legal to buy but not possess, which is not true. It is legal to possess up to an ounce of marijuana. The state also decriminalized possession for the 18-21-year old range, so if you’re caught with it as a young adult you get a $150 fine instead of a trip to jail.
Where can you smoke it? Marijuana cannot be smoked in public, or in any businesses designated under the Colorado Clean Indoor Air Act. So you can’t stroll around a park with a joint, but you can enjoy one on your own porch.
Can I drive high? No. It is (still) a crime to drive while under the influence of marijuana, and just like with alcohol, you will be charged with driving under the influence.
It’s a historic time to be a smoker in Colorado, and heartening to see some smoker-friendly policies amidst so many restrictive ones. As always, keep us in mind for all of your cigar needs, we’re always happy to answer any questions you may have.